top of page
  • Writer's pictureBlake Mellencamp

Teacher Feature: Meet Amanda Hodge

Franklin Central High School English Teacher Amanda Hodge

by Blake Mellencamp We're happy to feature Franklin Central teacher Amanda Hodge, whose True Crime class has done wonders to spark student interest in her school.


Enjoy our interview with Amanda as we learn more about what makes her a fantastic teacher. If you have a teacher you'd like to nominate, please email us at indianaenglishteachers@gmail.com!




"Mrs. Amanda Hodge, has perfected the most popular theme literature course in our school: True Crime." - Lisa Laker

Colleges/Degrees


I graduated summa cum laude from the University of Indianapolis. I am currently working on my MS in English Education through Indiana Wesleyan University. 


Tell us a bit about your Teaching History:


I have been an ELA teacher at Franklin Central since 2017. I was a midterm grad and I was very worried about finding a teaching job in December. As I was finishing my student teaching at Franklin Central a position was posted. I feel like it was just meant to be because I have grown tremendously thanks to the mentorship of my amazing department. I firmly believe that I am a better teacher because of my relationships with colleagues at Franklin Central.


I started out teaching English 11. I loved teaching juniors but our department shifted and I moved up to seniors at the start of my third year. I still teach seniors and I have added True Crime Literature and Linguistics to my course load. 


Why did you become a teacher?


I became a teacher because I have a genuine passion for helping others and I believe that working with students is the most effective way to make a positive impact on society. Also, blood makes me queasy so nursing wasn’t an option! Additionally, I find joy in sharing my knowledge and enthusiasm for the subject matter. When you are passionate about what you do it feels less like “work”. 


Tell us about your True Crime Class. How did this come about and how do you make it engaging for students?


In my second year, I started teaching speech. The students always wanted to do projects on mysteries or serial killers. I noticed that the students got into the projects when they were mystified by the event or person. My school had already started offering Themes courses so I proposed to add True Crime Literature as a themes elective. I never imagined it would garner the interest and numbers that it has. In its introductory year, I taught 6 sections of the course a day. Since then, I have taken on co-teachers to help plan and teach the course. 


The True Crime genre provides a unique blend of mystery, suspense, and psychological insight, keeping students engaged and curious. The course offers academic challenges while making students feel like they are doing something they like. For example, In Cold Blood is a very challenging text. Our unit covers the rhetorical analysis of Capote’s classic. While the academic side challenges the students, the book keeps them hooked to the very end. Capote’s masterful writing of the tragedy is something that really sticks with students. 


Additionally, I can pull from lots of different media to supply students with choice and engagement. For the Unsolved Mysteries unit, students pick a mystery to research. They look at articles, books, podcasts, and even documentaries. They get so wrapped up in their cases that they hardly have time to complain about doing their annotated bibliographies! 


What is your favorite book you’ve read this year?


I love reading historical fiction or psychological thrillers. I am on book 42 for the year and the only 5-star review I have given was for The Nightingale. 


As a teacher, I love reading and teaching In Cold Blood each year. After four years of teaching it twice a year, I am still coming up with new ideas about the novel. 


What are your go-to resources that support you and your students?


I love integrating tech activities in my classroom. I feel like Edpuzzle helps with engagement when introducing the historical context of novels. 


What gives you energy in your classroom?

Building positive relationships with students brings energy and excitement into my classroom. I try to make every student feel seen and heard in my room. I want students to feel like they know me enough to trust me with their minds! Rita Pierson’s TedTalk “Every Child Needs a Champion” really made an impact on my teaching philosophies. 

200 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page